Heeeeeeeeere’s Petunia!

Over the past few weeks I’ve deep cleaned the carpet, scrubbed out my fridge, tackled the jungle in my backyard and planted a vegetable garden, all in the name of procrastination. Or if only prove to myself that I can be productive, it just seems this productivity is a wee bit misdirected. You see, I studied Comparative Literature in Undergrad, and we didn’t take exams – we wrote papers. Lots and lots of papers. For this degree, I have 2 exams each 3 hours long covering material from the entire year that count for 30% of my total grade and 3 weeks to study for them. I’m not used to this. There is a reason I chose not to study science in the first place!

Currently I am one measly 7,000-10,000 project report away from earning my master’s degree. This year has flown by so incredibly fast I can’t even believe it. It seems like yesterday that I was getting on a plane leaving Sudan for the last time, tipsy from the champagne breakfast (or was it leftover from the night before?), trying alternately not to sob my eyes out or vomit from succumbing to the noxious fumes coming from the departure lounge toilets. Apparently the flushing function is beyond the grasp of many in Juba. Anyhow, here I sit in London, on the hottest day of the year so far, and it is only 84 degrees. 84 degrees is considered cool in Juba, people will start getting out their jackets at this temperature. As long as it is not raining, the temperature rarely dips below 105 degrees during the day.

But no, I shouldn’t be thinking of Juba, I should be conducting a literature review for my project on the articles to help me understand the mathematical models I will be using to predict the impact of control measures to malaria in the highlands of Western Kenya. Going to Basel, Switzerland to work with the eccentric professor who developed these models will be awesome, but to say I am over my head is an understatement. Oh well, bring it on I say!!!

Just wanted to say hello, here I am, I’m back and hope you’ll stick around with me in my lovely new space. I’ve missed you guys.

About Petunia

She wore rings on her fingers and bells on her shoes And I knew without asking she was into the blues She wore scarlet begonias tucked into her curls I knew right away she was not like other girls ~The Grateful Dead
This entry was posted in London, Random musings, Sudan. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

