Last Basel post, I promise

Last post about Basel. I promise. Just a few more pictures to share!

Here’s one from the Basel Sailing Club where there was a BBQ for work. It was great – everyone brought their own sausage to put on the grill, we all swam in the Rhine, and I almost died because I didn’t have the upper body strength to hold on very long to the bar for the rope string so swing into the river from the river bank. Lovely evening.

Boats on the Rhine

Over the weekend I went to Dreiländereck at Basel’s Kleinhüningen Port. Dreiländereck means “3 countries corner” (or something like that), and it’s the point where Switzerland, France and Germany all intersect. Well the exact point is somewhere in the middle of the river, but the closest point on land is by this huge port where all the trains and barges come together to carry goods further inland.

The monument marking the "spot" where the 3 countries come together (Dreiländereck). It's in Switzerland, France is to the left, and Germany is to the right.

Because I am so prepared, I forgot my passport, and didn’t want to try crossing into the other countries without it even though you don’t need one and it wouldn’t be the first time I’ve crossed an international  border without it. You see, we were in Lesotho, and really wanted to go out to dinner in South Africa… Anyways, never to fear, Rudy was on hand in his little solar powered boat to take people to all 3 countries (staying on the river, that is) for free! He didn’t speak English or French and I don’t speak German, so most of the communication was by hand gestures and repetition, so I couldn’t ask him nuanced questions like why his service was free. The whole thing took 20 mins, and was really nice.

Captain Rudy chartering a course across the Rhine. See the solar panels on the ceiling?

Here’s the website in case you speak German. And if you do and feel the urge to tell me what it says, I’d be grateful!

And with that, I’ve exhausted really all there is to say about my trip to Basel. Now all I have to do is find interesting things to write about in London…we’ll see how that goes 🙂

About Petunia

She wore rings on her fingers and bells on her shoes And I knew without asking she was into the blues She wore scarlet begonias tucked into her curls I knew right away she was not like other girls ~The Grateful Dead
This entry was posted in Switzerland, Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Last Basel post, I promise

  1. M.Lane says:

    What a great gig this summer is for you! Thanks for introducing me to Basel and I can’t wait to see what you find in London.

    ML
    mlanesepic.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

