AfriGadget

I wish I took more pictures of everyday things in my travels, not just the landscapes or the sights. For example of the parafin lamps we had to use that I burned my thumb on every night because I can’t use a lighter correctly. Or the inside of the Land Cruisers I drove (seriously dusty). Or even the uniforms of the JetLink flight attendants! Something to aim for in the future.

I love this blog – all about African ingenuity. It’s so great to scroll through the entries and pick out things that I’ve seen, or things I wish I had. Some of the gadgets are familiar, like this handmade radio (and I am definitely using that idea for a lampshade when I move into a more permanent dwelling) and lamp. I actually own one of those lamps, purchased at the same exact traffic roundabout in Nairobi for the same exact price as the author! Probably because Simba’s Dad did the price negotiation, as I would have most certainly got the mzungu price.

But this story? Tugs at my heart. Not only does it give you an idea of what happens to all the clothes donated in North America and Europe to send to Africa (in Juba they were mostly sold on the side of the road using fences as clothes hangers), but what a story! Woman claws her way out of prostitution and poverty by re-sewing old wedding dresses into “Sunday Best” dresses for young girls? And now owns a home? This is what it’s all about.

******************************

Edit: the word “juakali” used in the blog literally means “hot sun” in Swahili and is used to describe both a person who does metal and woodworking for a living, and the work that they do.

About Petunia

She wore rings on her fingers and bells on her shoes And I knew without asking she was into the blues She wore scarlet begonias tucked into her curls I knew right away she was not like other girls ~The Grateful Dead
This entry was posted in Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to AfriGadget

  1. paulakahumbu says:

    Oh, thank you for enjoying Afrigadget. Its so wonderful that the blog brings joy to some people’s hearts. I agree with you on the second hand clothes – wonderful that children and adults all over the world can share the same clothing!

Leave a Reply

