Beautiful Monstrosity

I picked a particularly frigid day to visit Colmar. Enough so that I broke down and bought a hat and a pair of gloves. I saw this hat and immediately fell in love. How could I resist looking like a raccoon died on my head???? It’s amazing and hideous and it’s my new favorite thing in the whole wide world.

 

My brand new raccoon hat, as modeled by a coffeepot and microwave. Maybe I should have washed it before wearing it…

It’s times like these I wish I didn’t have a “no personal pictures” policy on this blog so you all could marvel at the sight of this on my head.

My camera kept shutting off because the battery was almost dead so most of the pics are of buildings. The Tudor style reminds me of the house I grew up in (well, sort of, from when I was 4 to 13). Also, it was cold. But anywho, here’s a few of the pictures from Colmar. As I mentioned the other day the town is in the Alsace region of France just south of Strasbourg, my favorite place I visited in the whole of France when I studied abroad there. I figured Colmar would be similar but smaller and more manageable for a day trip, and it was. Enjoy!

 

What could be more French than a Charcuterie and a bicycle?

 

One of many winding streets in the old town

 

Little Venice

 

I wasn't watching where I was going while walking backwards to take this picture and stepped in dog poo. So this had to be included on principle.

 

Tanners District. The ground floor were all warehouses so the hides could dry while families lived upstairs. Original 5-story open plan living. Take that Back Bay!

 

Colmar Ecole Nationale de Musique. The window was open and the piano and violin could be heard echoing down the street.

 

Colmar Train Station, taken from the platform

About Petunia

She wore rings on her fingers and bells on her shoes And I knew without asking she was into the blues She wore scarlet begonias tucked into her curls I knew right away she was not like other girls ~The Grateful Dead
This entry was posted in Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Beautiful Monstrosity

  1. RW says:

    Too bad we don’t believe in winding streets here in the states. I’d be in like a shot.

  2. M.Lane says:

    What a marvelous town! I could wander there for a LONG time. Hopefully, some day, I will. Thanks for introducing Colmar. Up in Wisconsin where I grew up there were lots of hats like yours! You will fit right in!!

    ML
    mlanesepic.blogspot.com

  3. KMinNYC says:

    Beautiful! i haven’t been following your blog – i guess i forgot to sign up for your feed. will fix now. xo

Leave a Reply

