Mt. P Randomness

Some photo gems from my neighborhood this past summer. In case you missed me, I was in back in DC for 2 months this summer as part of the agreement from my program that lets me spend 4 months a year in the US. Huzzah for friends and family! Can I just say that I love Mount Pleasant? Like for realz. This neighborhood rocks. So quirky and full of life.

"Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles. NOW HIRING. Inquire within."

Amazeballs.

Only in DC. What is Alma Ata you might ask? It's the declaration from 1978 that was the first of its kind urging governments around the world to prioritize primary health care.

Why suddenly all the Mt. P love? Well…deep breath…I am now officially a homeowner! I bought a condo. Holy crap! It’s amazing and scary all at the same time. This way I will have a home to come back to whenever I am in the US and will finally, for the first time in over 4 years, be able to unpack all the boxes currently in my parent’s attic and hang up my art on the walls. To say I am excited is an understatement. I have missed DC since the day I left and feel at home there, and now I can truly consider it as such. Here’s to backyard bbq’s, Salvadorean food and Saturday farmers markets. Come visit!

About Petunia

She wore rings on her fingers and bells on her shoes And I knew without asking she was into the blues She wore scarlet begonias tucked into her curls I knew right away she was not like other girls ~The Grateful Dead
This entry was posted in USA. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Mt. P Randomness

  1. M.Lane says:

    Congratulations! You may be swamped with your readers showing up!

    ML
    mlanesepic.blogspot.com

  2. RW says:

    I lived in DC for a while. Just —> that side of DuPont Circle at Connecticut and S streets. There used to be an old drug store called Schwartz’s around there. Had two tables in the front and a lunch counter. The old black waitress was always crabby and a southern boy with a clubfoot made the killer scrambled egg sandwiches of the entire universe. Or was that all TMI?

    • Petunia says:

      Not TMI at all! I used to walk down Connecticut on my way to work. Bet I passed right by your old building all the time. Don’t think Schwartz’s is still there but I’ll hunt around for another egg sandwich place and report back.

  3. RW says:

    If you’re ever back there, you should take a picture… this old article from the Post explains exactly what it was like. They didn’t mention the struggling writer who used to show up once a week in the 70’s (hmm I wonder who he was), but it’ll do for info.

    http://www.washingtonpost.com/wp-dyn/content/article/2009/04/30/AR2009043003915.html

Leave a Reply

