Lyon part III – urban shiggy

Despite the fact that I was particularly inspired by all the galleries I went to over the weekend I spent in Lyon, in general I love taking pictures of street art and interesting lines, colors, shapes etc that are found just from walking around cities. Lyon did not disappoint as a subject. Here are some of my favorite parts of walking around the Croix Rousse and Vieux Lyon neighborhoods.

Looking over the Pasarelle Saint-Georges from the Presqu'ile

Davey, Davey Crockett, King of the wild frontier

Fontaine Bartholdi and the Opera de Lyon. Did I mention it was FREEZING the whole time I was there?

Une ville sans voitures

Montée de la Grande Côte

RW, this one's for you

The traboule (covered passageways that make short cuts through buildings) that acts as the entrance to Passage Thiaffait - one of the UNESCO world heritage sites. On the other side is the Village des Créateurs which are businesses of young designers.

My souvenir from Village des Créateurs - do you get the reference??? 🙂

Passage Thiafait - the way silk-weavers used to transport their goods through the city

I think the might be my favorite out of the bunch.

Saône river

Another Bouchon, but far more touristy

A restaurant window

A little taste of the USA

About Petunia

She wore rings on her fingers and bells on her shoes And I knew without asking she was into the blues She wore scarlet begonias tucked into her curls I knew right away she was not like other girls ~The Grateful Dead
This entry was posted in Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Lyon part III – urban shiggy

  1. RW says:

    Why yes I love that one. I wonder why…? These are beautiful. I must go. Once before I croak.

  2. Petunia says:

    I had a good chuckle, I have to say. There’s something about the disconnect between super-old European cities and spray-painted Anonymous masks that makes me happy.

Leave a Reply

