Boom go the fireworks!

156313_10100249248286262_127286119_n

Silent fireworks – fires attached to balloons. July 31st, for the Swiss National Day celebrations

Have you ever felt like you are on the edge of something important, something life changing, something incredible, but you don’t know what it is? I haven’t been able to shake that feeling for the past three weeks. There are all these points of light that are the pieces of my life have been slowly circling each other, travelling through space, winding their way closer and closer together as if they are being drawn together by a magnetic force down through a funnel. The tension is building but the path the energy will take is unclear.

I am daring to hope, to believe, that everything I have been doing – at times (often?) tedious and insular – is finally going to have an outlet, with the result of launching me into a clearer orientation and purpose. That there are actually options. That there are great things to come.

And you know what? It’s SO FREAKING EXCITING.

I’m not sure how much I should be actively trying to resolve whatever is going on vs. letting connections happen naturally. But for now I watch…and wait…because this is slightly trippy and weird.

photo_2

13th and Park, Washington, DC

****************************

What else is new? Hmmm… I turned 30. I’m more or less on track to hand in my dissertation (beginning of November). I signed up to run a marathon on October 27th in Luzern as a de-stressing method for the whole finishing my PhD thing (yes, I am fully aware that I am crazy).  I’m on a sabbatical from alcohol (at least until I finish my dissertation). Life in DC was wonderful, life in Basel is grand. I’m in a band and get to sing songs by Pink and Nirvana. Summer is glorious…

photo_1

Black Raspberry ice cream with chocolate sprinkles on a pretzel cone. YUM.

…and I have a tan.

photo

Soaking up the sun at Cape Henlopen State Park, Delaware.

About Petunia

She wore rings on her fingers and bells on her shoes And I knew without asking she was into the blues She wore scarlet begonias tucked into her curls I knew right away she was not like other girls ~The Grateful Dead
This entry was posted in Random musings. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Boom go the fireworks!

  1. M.Lane says:

    How wonderful and exciting for you! I have had those times also. I recommend just floating free…as much as a dissertation path allows…and keeping your eyes open. I’m not so sure about the alcohol abstinence though….

    I LOVE you fronting a band, how cool. I actually have one Pink song on my ipod…”Try”.

    I also love your tan. Enjoy. Its your time. Roll with it.

    ML

  2. thewayguy says:

    Your excitement comes through your words like electricity through a wire. Really happy for you.

    Sligo

  3. Petunia says:

    Thanks ML and Sligo. I certainly will try and enjoy it!

Leave a Reply

