Come to DC and I can make you a believer

Who has two thumbs and a PhD in Epidemiology? This girl! 

Thesis successfully defended, done and dusted. If you’re interested in the details let me know and I’ll send along a summary. 

I moved back to DC last week and it already feels like I never left. Besides jumping up and down at the variety of food choices, I’ve had a bit of readjusting to do – good coffee is very difficult to find, you don’t have to pre-weigh vegetables in a grocery store, and the public transportation system here is shockingly inefficient. 

What a ride these last few years have been, I’m excited that it’s time to make some decisions about next steps. I’m still basking in the afterglow of my defense, and am starry-eyed about all the potential options, but for now, I’m concentrating on taking a break and letting my mind and body reset. Considering after my marathon last October I’ve been doing nothing but eating, I need a serious kick in the arse. Once my broken toe heals, I’ll be hitting the pavement once again. If anyone has suggestions for marathons in the fall, let me know!

Sending love,

Dr. Petunia

About Petunia

She wore rings on her fingers and bells on her shoes And I knew without asking she was into the blues She wore scarlet begonias tucked into her curls I knew right away she was not like other girls ~The Grateful Dead
This entry was posted in DC, Random musings, Running, USA. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Come to DC and I can make you a believer

  1. M.Lane says:

    Congratulations! I am so happy for you!!!! Please do a photo book from your travels….I think it would be very popular.

    ML

    • Petunia says:

      Thanks so much! I have been keeping all my photos organized and hope to piece them together in a coherent whole. You will be the first to know when that happens. Hope all is well!

Leave a Reply

